These Days of Ours by Juliet Ashton

these-days-of-oursSynopsis

A novel about love. Raw important love. Small, beautiful love. And what happens when the person you love cannot be yours… Perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman, Jane Green and David Nicholls.
Kate and Becca are cousins and best friends. They have grown up together and shared all the most important milestones in their lives: childhood birthday parties, eighteenth birthdays, and now a wedding day as they each marry their childhood sweethearts, Charlie and Julian.
Kate has always loved Charlie – they were meant to be. Then she discovers that life never turns out quite how you expect it to. And love doesn’t always follow the journey it should.
But best friends are forever, and true love will find a way, won’t it…?

Review

This book has be heavily anticipated since I first found out about it’s existence and set my eyes upon the pretty cover. The cover is delicate and beautiful, and the story within is equally as beautiful.
This book while telling an emotional story has some great humour to it. If you’ve read my spring blogger event post, you may remember me mentioning there was a particular quote involving ‘the consumption’ I found particularly funny, and I still smile to myself now when thinking about it. While that moment is my favourite funny moment, plenty more follow.
The book is told through events such as birthday parties, weddings and hen do’s, and the time surrounding them, the glimpses into the characters life are often years apart. While this could be off putting, it wasn’t as no important detail was left out, so you’re never confused as to what had happened and this allowed a much bigger story to be told spanning 3-4 decades. It was such compulsive reading, I felt the need to read it almost in one go, if only work and sleep didn’t get in the way.
Katie was simply great. She was a very caring and attentive, always wanting the best for people. This book is about relationships, both romantic and platonic, especially the bond between Katie and her cousin Becca.
They are the polar opposite of each other. Katie is kind and thoughtful, Becca is brash, selfish and a bit mean at times. Despite this while at times I didn’t support Becca and what she was doing, I couldn’t help but like her overall.  Seeing how Katie and Becca’s relationship fared over the many years is a beautiful story, showing that sometimes blood is thicker than water, all interwoven with insights into significant times of their lives and relationships with those around them.
As I said earlier, this also features romantic relationships, and other than Julian, I think they were all great, despite some of their issues and bad habits. Julian was really nice to start with but soon his snobbery and patronising attitudes towards his wife’s career.
I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. Beautiful, emotional and funny, this book has it all.
5Butterflys_white-01
Published by: Simon and Schuster
Gratefully received from the Publisher for review
View Book on Goodreads
Order on: Amazon UK | Amazon US | Book Depository
Ebook out Now / Paperback available 7th April

Add Comment