A Song For Tomorrow by Alice Peterson

asongfortomorrowSynopsis 

Tom fell in love with Alice the moment he saw her. He realises that being with her will not be easy, but she is a force of nature, a burst of sunlight in his otherwise ordinary world.
 
Some people might look at Alice and think she has everything, but Alice knows she is not like other women. Her life is complicated, unpredictable, difficult. Alice does not like pity. All she wants to do, has ever wanted to do, is sing.
 
Alice has been told not to follow her dreams. But when fate has already dealt a tough hand, it’s time to stop listening to everyone else and only follow their hearts.

Review

I’ve read a couple of books by Alice Peterson before, and enjoyed them both, add that with all the hype I read on twitter surrounding this book, I knew I was in for a treat. This book was certainly something special.
 
The power of this book is shown by how hard it was for me to write this review, and how many times I’ve re-wrote the intro. Basically this book had me tongue-tied. The writing is beautiful. It is a book that begs you to take your time over it. You could easily read this in a day, but it made me want to take my time over it and savour each page. The characterisation is as wonderful as the rest of there book. You hear from 3 different people, Alice, Tom and Alice’s mother. They were all unique perspectives on their feelings on Alice and how they deal with Alice’s illness. I absolutely adored Alice’s mum’s perspective, they were incredibly moving.
 
Alice herself is incredibly determined, headstrong and at times stubborn. Her passion for music was clear and her obvious passion for life was inspirational. Of course she worries and is increasingly scared as the book continues, but she constantly pushes herself to make the most of life. Following her dreams is important to her, however far away they may seem, and it’s something we could all learn from.
 
Tom, for the most part was absolutely lovely. He clearly loved Alice and cared for her. Though their relationship is complex at times, and at times he disappointed me, but would I act differently if I was in the same situation? I don’t know, so I can’t act all self righteous.  Their romance was wonderful to read however, his caring side was beautiful and their playfulness together made me smile.
 
It’s only February and  am positive this will be in my top ten books of the year. It is loosely based on the life of Alice Martineau and that just makes it all the more emotional and special. It is heart-breaking, uplifting and inspirational. This book will stick in my mind for a long time.
 
5Butterflys_white-01
 
Published by: Simon and Schuster
Gratefully received from the Publisher for review
 
View Book on Goodreads
Order on: Amazon UK | Amazon US | Book Depository
 
 
 
 

Falling by Julie Cohen

falling-juliecohenSynopsis

Can you imagine keeping a secret so devastating, you couldn’t even tell the people you love?
 
Honor’s secret threatens to rob her of the independence she’s guarded ferociously for eighty years.
 
Jo’s secret could smash apart the ‘normal’ family life she’s fought so hard to build.
 
Lydia’s could bring her love – or the loss of everything that matters to her.
 
Grandmother, mother and daughter – three women whose lives are falling apart. But one summer’s day, a single dramatic moment will force their secrets into the open.
 
Can they save each other from falling?

Review

I’ve never read a book by Julie Cohen, and judging by the amount of praise I read about Julie’s books, I was clearly missing out so I was eager to make amends and start with this book.
 
Julie’s writing is fantastic. She manages to create a mixture of emotions. The first chapter, I felt concern for Honor, then jumping straight to the second chapter I found myself laughing as Jo attempts to get him on the bus with two young children, on a day where nothing is going right and much later on I found myself crying, with a whole load of feelings in the middle.
 
The three viewpoints means we get to know the three women’s secrets in great detail, ensuring we feel for them, especially Lydia and Honor. Personally for me, I didn’t really get why Jo’s secret was really such a big deal, I know it breaks a promise with her 16 year old daughter, but then again, I have the advantage of knowing why Lydia was so adamant about this promise in the heat of the moment, and also, I think it’s a very motherly thing and I’m not a mother, nor am I terribly broody so I think if I was then I would get it.
 
Honor starts out as grumpy and as snobby as her reputation promises. Her distaste for Jo, her daughter-in-law, couldn’t be more obvious. However she knows she needs help, so has to reluctantly accept Jo’s offer. Despite her grumpiness, I always felt it had a tinge of loneliness to it. It was hard to dislike Honor when reading her chapters. However her barbed comments when Jo was commentating sometimes felt a bit mean.
 
Jo is one of those people who is generally upbeat and a people pleaser. She clearly hopes her upbeat attitude rubs off on other people, and her need to please people means she worries and then has the tendency to flap about, much to the annoyance of Honor and Lydia.
 
This was also to her detriment. She never found time for herself, or think about what she wants from life. In her mind she was a housewife or mother, and that’s all she needed to be. But as cliché as it is to ‘find yourself’, I wish she had spent some time doing just that, before she met Richard, or while she had the au-pair to help out with the two young children.
 
Lydia’s chapters mostly start with an inner monologue where you soon start to learn her secret, and for me her story was my favourite. Her secret was so huge, especially for someone who is only 160 and seeing her struggle pulled on my heart-strings at times. I did like seeing her bond with Honor towards the middle-end of this book, it was great reading their scenes together.
 
While I probably seem really harsh on Jo, I did like all three women pretty equally. They clearly needed each other and it was a simply beautiful story. A fantastic read that made me feel a real mix of emotions, as I hoped it would.
 
4halfButterflies_white-01
 
Published by: Transworld

Gratefully received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
 
View Book on Goodreads
Order on: Amazon UK | Amazon US | Book Depository
 

The One We Fell In Love With by Paige Toon

theonewefellinlovewithSynopsis

Phoebe is caught between a rock and a hard place. Settle down and get married, or return to the French Alps to pursue her passion?
 
Eliza is in love with someone who is no longer hers. In fact, he probably never was… And her dream of becoming a successful musician seems to be vanishing before her eyes.
 
Rose is out of a job and out of a boyfriend. To make matters worse, she’s been forced to move back in with her mother…
 
But these very different girls have one thing in common. Angus. The one they fell in love with…

Review

Obviously it should go without saying that I was excited for this book. It’s no secret that Paige Toon is my favourite author and has been since I first read ‘Lucy in the Sky’ back when it was released in 2007. When I received her new book at the spring blogger event, I was beyond excited. When the cover was revealed I fell even more in love.
 
The premise of this book is fascinating. It’s unusual enough to read about triplets, but add a mutual love interest and things are bound to get even more interesting. Phoebe, Rose and Eliza may be identical in looks but are far from the same in personality. Phoebe is kind hearted and adventurous, Rose smart and sensible and Eliza creative and more of a free spirit. This is Paige’s first book where the story is told through multiple viewpoints. Each triplet was distinctive in their voice as you get to know each person separately, reading about their lives and their inner thoughts. Instantly relatable, each one captures and kept my attention so that I couldn’t stop reading, even if I had wanted to.
 
Phoebe is everyone’s favourite twin, the glue that holds Rose and Eliza’s temperamental relationship together. They would both do anything to make her happy, and she has some shine to her that I warmed to her instantly. However she has some unrest in her mind, and has a feeling a trip to back to Chamonix, where she spent much of her gap year many years ago will help help her.
 
Rose is the triplet I related to the most. She can come across as uptight but I think it’s her desire to ‘obey the rules’, worried bathings will happen otherwise and also she wants to please everyone and it all somehow translates to almost self righteousness but she never means it that way. During the book she takes a job no one expects her to, working the front counter of a bakery whilst coming from a nursing background is quitter a change, especially as she loves caring for people, however it’s clear she needed time away from the stresses and it seemed the perfect opportunity. This assed with the younger and fun-loving Toby, it really catalysts Rose coming into her own. Whilst she seems the most ‘grown-up’ of the triplets, she’s perhaps the one that’s most lost as to who she is.
 
Eliza is the youngest triplet and despite it being by minutes, at times you can tell. She is the most sensitive one. I imagine she felt a little left out, as Phoebe was closest to their dad, and Rose to her mum. So while her exterior might be tough and carefree on the inside she is struggling, while she knows who she is, there is a lot of guilt inside her and can’t really confide in anyone.
 
Now onto Angus, the object of all of their affections. Towards the start I was a bit wary, I am not sure why, he was obviously handsome, but there was something I still can’t quite put my finger on why, but I wasn’t sure. However this quickly dissipated as I got to know him. He was soon coming across as the funny, charming and genuinely thoughtful hero you expect from a Paige Toon book
 
Once again Paige has written a book I cant recommend enough. It’s utterly fantastic and I’m having debates with myself if this may have dethroned Chasing Daisy as my favourite book by Paige Toon (though think the F1 setting and Luis might just be winning it for Chasing Daisy so far). It dials up the emotion on her previous books, meaning that had me thinking about it love after finishing it.
 
5Butterflys_white-01
 
Published by: Simon & Schuster
Gratefully received from the Publisher for review
 
View Book on Goodreads
Order on: Amazon UK | Amazon US | Book Depository
 

Our Song by Dani Atkins

OurSongSynopsis

The stunning new emotional drama from ebook phenomenon Dani Atkins, author of Fractured – perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson.
This is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they’ve never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally’s ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever.
Full of Dani’s signature warmth and emotion, this is a gripping and emotional family drama. With breath-taking plot twists, Dani explores themes of serendipity, friendship and love. She fully engages the reader in the dilemmas faced by her characters. What would you do if your husband was the love of somebody else’s life? And when faced with an agonising decision, could you put the past behind you and do the right thing?